Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1938 Elgin 24hr Dial "A-12" Navigation Hack Wristwatch

Default 1938 Elgin 24hr Dial "A-12" Navigation Hack Wristwatch

I am new to the MWR forum as I have just acquired my first military watch from the estate of a military pilot.

While trying to research an Elgin "A-12" military watch online I found almost nothing about this watch.

Most of the information I found was regarding the Elgin "A-11" watches.

This watch has an unusual white 24 hour dial with a "circular window and left pointing arrow" on the dial located

at 6:00 that gradually changes, from right to left, to a full red dot as the time moves from 4pm to 7pm.

I'm guessing that when a full red dot appears you read the inner red hour markers to tell the time at night?

From 4:00am to 7:00am the red dot gradually changes back to the white dial color.

The watch has 15 jewel movement with "US ARMY A.C" stamped on the bridge.

The case back is stamped:

U.S ARMY A.C.
    NAVIGATION
    HACK WATCH
    TYPE-A-12
    MFR'S PART NO. 1840
    SER.NO. 37179446
    ORDER NO. 39-2005
    ELGIN TIME LABORATORY

There is also an "AC 271" mark inside a triangle stamped on the casebock?

The case is an early base metal 3 piece Wadsworth.

I can only find information from 2 military book sources that confirm these watches are genuine.

It appears the watches were produced in late 1938 and issued in very limited

quantities to the Army Air Corps pilots from 1939 on.

I would be very interested to know if anyone here knows more about these watches.

I am beginning to suspect that this watch may be quite rare.

Unfortunately, my posting permissions on this site will not allow me to attach photographs?

Quote Originally Posted by abarth1959 View Post
    Unfortunately, my posting permissions on this site will not allow me to attach photographs?
    welcome - attachments are disabled for everyone.

here are some instructions for posting images to the forum: